National ESEA Distinguished Schools

Wyoming Department of Education > For District Leadership > Federally Funded Programs > Title I-A > National ESEA Distinguished Schools

Contact Information

Title I Director
Les Koch
(307) 777-6216

Since 1996, the National National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators has honored schools across the country for their innovation in helping Title I students achieve high educational standards. Selected from each state by members of the National National Association of ESEA State Program Administrators, these schools represent examples of superior Title I programs and demonstrate a wide array of strengths, including offering focused and innovative professional development opportunities for staff, strong community involvement, and high success with individualized student programs. For schools selected in Wyoming, the WDE encourages attendance at the annual National ESEA Conference.

Program Application and Requirements:

The WDE will select one qualifying school, if applicable, in each of the following categories, with a maximum of two schools allowed per state per year:

  • Exceptional student performance and academic growth for two or more consecutive years; or
  • Closing the achievement gap between student groups for two or more consecutive years; or
  • Excellence in serving special populations of students (homeless, migrant, English learners, etc.)

In order for a school to qualify under the above categories, it must have:

  • A poverty rate of at least 35% for the selected year;
  • Demonstrated high academic achievement for two or more consecutive years;
  • Exceeded expectations as established by WAEA for at least  two consecutive years;
  • Clearly demonstrated that it has met the criteria for the category it is applying for; and
  • Not been recognized as a Distinguished School during the previous two years.
  • Completed the  National ESEA Distinguished Schools 2018-2019 Application and submit to the WDE prior to the annual deadline.

2018 National ESEA Distinguished Schools

Congratulations to Baldwin Creek Elementary School in Fremont County School District #1 and Sheridan Junior High School in Sheridan County School District #2 for being honored as the 2018 National ESEA Distinguished School winners in Wyoming!