Conferences

Wyoming Department of Education > For Teachers > Conferences

Professional Development Opportunities

The WDE offers conferences on a variety of topics throughout the year. Check this list frequently for updates.


2022 WAVE Conference

The WDE’s Special Education Programs Division announces the return of the annual in-person Week of Academic Vision for Excellence (WAVE) Conference to be held at the Central Wyoming College in Riverton from July 26-28. The WDE will offer this conference at no cost for 2022. This conference is relevant for educators, parents, and other Wyoming stakeholders. State and national presenters will cover topics such as trauma response, behavior/discipline, and Special Education law.

Join department staff for a meet-and-greet reception on July 26 at the Riverton Country Club. Due to limited space, pre-registration for this event is required by July 5. A ticket will be provided for admittance when participants pick up their name tags at the conference registration table.

Registration will close on July 5, 2022.

  • Register for the conference here.
  • 2022 WAVE Conference schedules, presenter session descriptions, presenter bios, and venue information can be found here.

For more information, contact Deana Smith at 307-777-5326 or deana.smith@wyo.gov or Jennifer Duncan at 307-777-3530 or jennifer.duncan@wyo.gov.


2022 Wyoming Innovations in Learning Conference

The 2022 Wyoming Innovations in Learning Conference will be Nov. 3-4, 2022. The call for proposals is open until May 6, 2022. For more information, contact Robin Grandpre at 307-777-5315 or robin.grandpre1@wyo.gov.


2022 Embracing Literacy Conference

The Wyoming Department of Education will again offer its annual Embracing Literacy Conference, which will be held virtually in July of 2022. The conference focuses on the science of reading and is open to educators across the state and beyond.

The conference has been a huge hit with over 500 attendees at each of the past two conferences. The conference will cover topics ranging from phonemic awareness and vocabulary to comprehension and writing. The WDE plans to offer sessions Tuesdays and Thursdays from July 5 to July 21.

For more information, contact Jonathan Lundquist at 307-777-3316 or jonathan.lundquist@wyo.gov.


2022 Native American Education Conference

The conference will be held Aug. 2-4, 2022, at Central Wyoming College in Riverton. For more information, contact Rob Black at rob.black1@wyo.gov or visit the conference homepage.


2022 Star Conference

For more information, contact Mariah Betts at mariah.betts@wyo.gov.


2022 McKinney-Vento Conference

For more information, contact Shannon Cranmore at shannon.cranmore@wyo.gov.


2022 Wyoming Computer Science Conference

For more information, contact Laurel Ballard at laurel.ballard@wyo.gov.


2022 Inspire Ingenuity Conference

For more information, contact Ilaine Brown at ilaine.brown1@wyo.gov