Wyoming Department of Education > For Teachers > Recognition > PAEMST

Contact Information

Science Consultant
Bobbi Eichhorst
(307) 777-8753
Mathematics/Computer Science Consultant
Alicia Wilson
(307) 777-5036

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

Congratulations to the 2021 Wyoming State Finalists

This year, Wyoming honors three math teachers and three science teachers as the 2021 state finalists for the 7-12 cycle. 

Congratulations to math finalists:

  • Becky Byer, Kelly Walsh High School in Casper.
  • Rachel Husbyn, Lander Valley High School in Lander.
  • Heather Tyrrell, East High School in Cheyenne. 

Congratulations to science finalists:

  • Pete Idema, Cody Middle School in Cody.
  • Charity Penn, Douglas Middle School in Douglas.
  • Claudia Troxel, Lander Valley High School in Lander.

Congratulations to the 2020 Wyoming State Finalists 

Wyoming honors two math teachers and one science teacher as the 2020 state finalists for the K-6 cycle. Katie McCue, Eastside Elementary School in Cody; Craig Williams, Buffalo Ridge Elementary School in Cheyenne; and Emily Emond, Woodland Park Elementary School in Sheridan.

Congratulations to the 2019 7-12 Cycle National Awardees

Aimee Kay – Thermopolis Middle School

Aimee Kay has been an educator for the past 25 years. During that time, she has taught sixth grade science, language arts, and social studies, served as the district’s technology facilitator, and the high school dropout prevention/court liaison coordinator for at-risk students. The past eight years she has been the seventh and eighth grade science teacher at Thermopolis Middle School.

She has been an integral part of the middle school program that has been nationally recognized  as a model professional learning community and two-time runner up for the DuFour Award. In 2018, she was named the district’s Teacher of the Year, and in 2019 was named the Wyoming State Junior High Coach of the Year for her work with the middle school volleyball program.

Aimee is currently involved in Wyoming’s first cohort of the new level-up program which allows for networking and collaboration with Wyoming’s elite teachers and administrators, developing and enhancing leadership skills to affect positive change in our state and community.

Aimee is an advocate within her collaborative science team, encouraging the incorporation of inquiry lessons that allow students more practice in K–12 science literacy skills. In her classroom, students have the opportunity to plan, follow, and revise scientific investigations, giving them hands-on practice with real-world science skills.

Aimee has been a certified Emergency Medical Technician for the past 18 years which gives her insights and community connections that she has used in her life science classroom to bring in ideas for lessons and guest speakers from the local hospital.

Aimee earned her B.A. in education and M.S. in natural science from the University of Wyoming and received National Board Certification in 2019.

Jennifer Kelley – Jackson Hole High School

Jennifer Kelley has been an educator for 20 years. For eight years she has taught at Jackson Hole High School. She currently teaches Algebra, Advanced Placement (AP) Calculus AB, and AP Calculus BC to 9th-12th grade students. She currently serves as a concurrent mathematics instructor for Central Wyoming College and was formerly an instructional coach. In addition, she previously taught mathematics at Jackson Hole Middle School, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, McLean High School, The Hotchkiss School, and The American Overseas School of Rome. 

Jennifer creates a collaborative and engaging learning environment that provides students with enriching opportunities to explore mathematics, problem solve, and take ownership of their learning. Jennifer’s positive relationships with her students create an inclusive class culture where a diverse set of learners feel safe and respected. Her high expectations and commitment to academic excellence inspire students to exceed their own expectations. 

Jennifer works with students in extended day and summer credit recovery, ensuring student success at all levels in and out of the classroom. She team teaches with Special Education and English Language Learner teachers, mentors new teachers, and facilitates a professional learning community. Jennifer is a member of the leadership team, equity team, and founding member of the 9th grade intervention team. She is an AP Calculus reader for the College Board and served on the district K–12 math content team.

Jennifer earned a B.A., with distinction, in mathematics and a M.T. in secondary mathematics education, both from the University of Virginia. She is certified in 6–12 mathematics and is National Board Certified in adolescent and young adult mathematics.

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation’s highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science and engineering). Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

This year’s awards will honor mathematics and science (including computer science and engineering) teachers working in grades 7-12. The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2021. The nomination form should be completed early enough to ensure that the nominated teacher is given enough time to thoroughly prepare an application that reflects exemplary teaching. The application deadline is April 1, 2021.

Recipients of the award receive the following:

  • A certificate signed by the President of the United States
  • A paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation
  • An opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation

Teachers must meet eligibility requirements.

PAEMST Awardees 1983-2019