Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science

Contact Information

Science Consultant
Sharla Dowding
(307) 777-8753
Mathematics/Computer Science Consultant
Brian Cole
(307) 777-5036


Wyoming PAEMST 2018 finalists (l to r): Necole Hanks (Powell, Science), Stephanie Boren (Thermopolis, Math), Phil Orbell (Riverton, Science), Helen Ommen (Laramie, Math). Not Pictured: Vanessa Keller (Worland, Math) and Valerie Bruce (Gillette, Science)

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation’s highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

This year’s awards will honor mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers working in grades K-6. The deadline for nominations is April 1, 2019. The nomination form should be completed early enough to ensure that the nominated teacher is given enough time to thoroughly prepare an application that reflects exemplary teaching prior to the application deadline.

Recipients of the award receive the following:

  • A certificate signed by the President of the United States
  • A paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities
  • A $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation
  • An opportunity to build lasting partnerships with colleagues across the nation

Teacher must meet eligibility requirements.