Level Up to Elevate Wyoming’s Education Professionals

Wyoming Department of Education > Superintendent's Update > Level Up to Elevate Wyoming’s Education Professionals

Dear Superintendents,

Early this fall, I announced a new leadership program for educators called Level Up. Through this program we seek to elevate Wyoming’s education professionals by providing authentic and innovative leadership development opportunities. In partnership with model districts, other states, Leadership Wyoming, the Wyoming National Guard, and others, we are eager to have a strong first cohort in 2020.

Each District Teacher of the Year (DTOY), along with that educator’s principal (or another leader in the district), is invited to participate in Level Up. While the DTOY program is optional, most districts participate. Thus, they are eligible to also participate in Level Up. The good news is that it’s not too late to select a DTOY in your district and be eligible to participate in Level Up.

Robin Grandpre at 307-777-5315 or robin.grandpre1@wyo.gov is available to provide technical assistance on the process for selecting a DTOY and/or applying for the 2020 Level Up cohort through December 16.


Another opportunity for educators, this time at the national level, is the School Ambassador Fellowship Program. The U.S. Department of Education (USED) is accepting applications for the 2020-21 cohort. This program is designed to enable outstanding teachers, principals, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and other school-based professionals who interact with students on a daily basis to bring their expertise to the USED and expand their knowledge of the national dialogue about education. In turn, fellows facilitate the learning and input of other educators and community members. The application period closes at 11:59 p.m. EST on December 31.

Memos to be released on December 9:

  • 2019-149:  Special Populations on Target (SPOT) Training
  • 2019-150:  State Registration Requirements Under the Military Selective Service Act
  • 2019-151:  2019-20 National ESEA Distinguished Schools Program