### Wyoming Administrative Rules

# Education, Dept. of

## General Agency, Board or Commission Rules

Chapter 22: School Schedule

Effective Date: 01/21/2022 to Current

Rule Type: Current Rules & Regulations

Reference Number: 206.0002.22.01212022

#### Chapter 22

#### SCHOOL SCHEDULES

- **Section 1. Authority.** These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Wyoming Statute § 21-02-304(b)(viii) and W.S. 21-4-301.
- **Section 2. Pupil-Teacher Contact Time.** Pupil-teacher contact time means time reflected in a school schedule for on- or off-site instruction and educational activities that students are required to attend, for which attendance is taken for membership calculation purposes, and that includes instruction available from a certified teacher. Educational activities include online learning management system or platform logged activity, submissions, or tracking.
- **Section 3.** Required Hours. Pupil-teacher contact time may not be less than the minimums for hours set out in subsections (a) through (d) below. School/hour/day schedules must be reflected and described in the district calendar submitted to WDE, as well as in any accreditation reports. The minimum annual pupil-teacher contact time for Wyoming public schools (kindergarten through grade 12) shall be:
  - (a) Kindergarten. A minimum of 450 hours.
  - (b) Elementary. A minimum of 900 hours.
  - (c) Middle School/Junior High. A minimum of 950 hours.
  - (d) High School. A minimum of 1000 hours.

#### Section 4. Procedure for Implementing Alternative Schedule.

- (a) A district shall submit alternative schedule proposals between January 1 and May 1 preceding the school calendar year for which the schedule will be implemented.
  - (b) The State Board of Education shall deny:
- (i) alternative schedules that reduce the number of operational days more than the number of school days that include pupil-teacher contact time; or
- (ii) alternative schedules that do not propose fewer than 175 days containing pupil-teacher contact time.
  - (c) A district shall submit a request that includes:
- (i) educational objectives that identify how students will benefit educationally;
- (ii) a description of the schedule, including total operational days and number of days that include pupil-teacher contact;

- (iii) a method to evaluate whether student learning has improved and whether the schedule has achieved the outlined objectives;
- (iv) evidence that the district has held at least two (2) advertised public meetings to receive public comments on the proposed alternative schedule; and
- (v) a record of public comments received on the proposed alternative schedule.
- (d) In approving requests for an alternative schedule the State Board shall specify the time period for which approval is granted, not to exceed two (2) years, nor less than one (1) year.
- (e) During time for which approval is granted, the district may submit its request to continue the alternative schedule.
- (f) A district containing a school with an approved alternative schedule shall submit an evaluation of the prior year's evidence of student learning improvement and whether the alternative schedule achieved the outlined objectives by July 1 of each year.