

Jillian Balow Superintendent of Public Instruction

> Dicky Shanor Chief of Staff

Brent Bacon Chief Academic Officer

Lisa Weigel Chief Policy Officer

Dianne Bailey Chief Operations Officer

Cheyenne Office Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-2060 Phone: (307) 777-7675 Fax: (307) 777-6234

Riverton Office 320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

On the Web edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com

MEMORANDUM NO. 2016-117

то:	School District Superintendents High School Principals Scholarship Coordinators High School Teachers CTE Coordinators
FROM:	Lisa Weigel, Chief Policy Officer

DATE: September 26, 2016

SUBJECT: Presidential Scholars Program

NATIONAL RECOGNITION OPPORTUNITY IN SCHOLARSHIP, ARTS, AND CTE

The Wyoming Department of Education will be nominating up to 25 Wyoming high school seniors for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Students can be selected in a number of ways: through outstanding scholarship, ability and accomplishments in the visual and performing arts or creative writing, or excellence in Career and Technical Education.

All high school students are eligible if they are graduating between January and June of 2017, are U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents, and attend either a public, parochial, independent, or home school. Wyoming will be submitting up to ten male and ten female nominations for scholarship and the arts, along with five additional students for the CTE recognition component. As in the past, the 2017 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be selected by the Commission on Presidential Scholars, and will receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion.

To nominate a student, email the appropriate attached nomination form to <u>bruce.hayes@wyo.gov</u> by **Friday, November 4th**. There are two nomination forms: One for scholarship and the arts (includes creative writing), and one for Career and Technical Education. Please fill out one nomination form per student. Nominations must be sent via email by a school or district employee.

The Presidential Scholars Program was established by President Lyndon Johnson in 1964 and has honored more than 7,000 outstanding high

school seniors since that time. The mission of the program is to recognize and honor superior high school seniors, thereby encouraging high attainment among all students.

To learn more about the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program and the Commission on Presidential Scholars, go to <u>ed.gov/psp</u>.

For questions regarding the Presidential Scholars Program, please contact Bruce Hayes, Accreditation Consultant, at 307-777-6198 or <u>bruce.hayes@wyo.gov</u>.

For questions regarding the nomination of CTE students, please contact Mark Bowers, CTE consultant, at 307-777-7708 or <u>mark.bowers@wyo.gov</u>.

Attachments: Scholarship and Arts Nomination Form CTE Nomination Form