



# **Jillian Balow**Superintendent of Public Instruction



## Cheyenne Office

Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne, WY 82002-0050 Phone: (307) 777-7675 Fax: (307) 777-6234

## **Casper Office**

539 S. Payne Casper, WY 82609 Phone: (307) 577-4686 Fax: (307) 577-6785

#### **Riverton Office**

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9253 Fax: (307) 857-9257

#### On the Web

edu.wyoming.gov www.wyomingmeasuresup.com

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 10, 2015

Visit edu.wyoming.gov/press for contact details

# DISTANCE EDUCATION TASK FORCE WILL MEET IN CASPER; LOCATION CORRECTED

The Distance Education Task Force will meet April 16-17, 2015 in Casper, Wyoming. The public meetings will take place from 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 16 and from 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. on Friday, April 17. Please note that the location has changed from an earlier press release. The correct meeting location is now room 217 of Strausner Hall at Casper College.

A tentative agenda is available here: <a href="http://edu.wyoming.gov/downloads/distance-ed/2015/DETF-agenda-04162015.pdf">http://edu.wyoming.gov/downloads/distance-ed/2015/DETF-agenda-04162015.pdf</a>

The task force is to make official recommendations to the legislature on programmatic requirements for the delivery of quality distance education, guidance to ensure compliance, and how to provide transparency in administering distance education. A completed report is due in October 2015.

Superintendent of Public Instruction Jillian Balow is chair of the task force and appointed its fourteen members:

- Brent Bacon, WDE Chief Academic Officer
- Sen. Stephan Pappas of Chevenne
- Rep. John Freeman of Green River
- Mike O'Donnell, Special Assistant to the Wyoming Attorney General
- Aaron Carr, Niobrara School District #1 Superintendent
- Shon Hocker, Bighorn County School District #2 Superintendent
- RJ Kost, Curriculum Coordinator in Park County School District #1
- Brian Farmer, Wyoming School Boards Association Executive Director
- London Jenks, Tech. Coordinator, Hot Springs County School Dist. #1
- Scott Mecca, teacher in Albany County School District #1
- Julia Cook, parent in Park County School District #6
- Denise Miller, Instructional Facilitator, Natrona County School Dist. #1
- David Picard, lobbyist for Wyoming Connections Academy
- Nicole Tiley, Wyoming Virtual Academy Head of School

Contact Brent Bacon with questions at (307)777-2058 or brent.bacon@wyo.gov.