

MEMORANDUM NO. 2021-067

- TO: School District Superintendents Principals Math and Science Teachers
- FROM: Kari Eakins, Chief Policy Officer

DATE: May 17, 2021

SUBJECT: 2021 PAEMST State Finalists

2021 PRESIDENTIAL AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE TEACHING (PAEMST) STATE FINALISTS

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is the highest recognition that a K-12 mathematics or science teacher can receive in the U.S. This year, Wyoming is honoring three math teachers and three science teachers as the 2021 Grades 7-12 Wyoming State Finalists.

Congratulations to the math finalists:

Becky Byer, Kelly Walsh High School in Casper.

Rachel Husbyn, Lander Valley High School in Lander.

Heather Tyrrell, East High School in Cheyenne.

Congratulations to the science finalists:

Pete Idema, Cody Middle School in Cody.

Charity Penn, Douglas Middle School in Douglas.

Claudia Troxel, Lander Valley High School in Lander.

Enacted by Congress in 1983, this program authorizes the President to present 108 awards each year. Awards are given to exemplary mathematics and science teachers in each of the 50 states and the four U.S. jurisdictions.

These teachers are recognized for their contribution to excellence in teaching and learning. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their schools and communities, and leaders in the state and nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital national resource for the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Each year, finalists in each state are chosen for the Presidential Award through a rigorous peer review process. Their applications are forwarded to the National Science Foundation where the final selection for the national Presidential Awardee is made.

For more information, contact Shannon Wachowski, Science, at 307-777-8753 or shannon.wachowski@wyo.gov, or Alicia Wilson, Math, at 307-777-5036 or alicia.wilson@wyo.gov.