CREATING OPPORTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS TO KEEP WYOMING STRONG



JILLIAN BALOW Superintendent of Public Instruction

DICKY SHANOR Chief of Staff

SHELLEY HAMEL Chief Academic Officer

KARI EAKINS Chief Policy Officer

TRENT CARROLL Chief Operations Officer



CHEYENNE OFFICE

122 W. 25th St. Suite E200 Cheyenne, WY 82002 307-777-7675

RIVERTON OFFICE

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 307-857-9250



ON THE WEB

edu.wyoming.gov twitter.com/WYOEducation facebook.com/WYOEducation



MEMORANDUM NO. 2019-112

то:	School District Superintendents High School Principals High School Counselors
FROM:	Kari Eakins, Chief Policy Officer
DATE:	September 23, 2019
SUBJECT:	U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

NATIONAL RECOGNITION OPPORTUNITY FOR STUDENTS

The Wyoming Department of Education (WDE) seeks nominations for Wyoming high school seniors for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must attend any public, parochial, independent, or home school, must be a U.S. citizen or a permanent legal resident, and must graduate between January and June of 2020. U.S. Presidential Scholars will be selected by the Commission on Presidential Scholars and will receive an all expense-paid trip to Washington, D. C. in June to be presented with the U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House.

Students are selected for outstanding scholarship abilities, including excellence in visual, creative, or performing arts, or for excellence in Career and Technical Education (CTE). Up to 10 men and 10 women can be nominated for the General selection, and up to five individuals can be nominated for the CTE selection.

To nominate students, complete the <u>nomination form</u> for each student. Nominations must be made by a school or district employee. The national office will contact the successfully-nominated students.

Nomination applications are due by November 1, 2019. Additional information about the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program can be found on the U.S. Department of Education <u>website</u> or the WDE <u>website</u>.

For more information contact Bradley Barker or Jennifer LaHiff at hathawayscholarship@wyo.gov.