CREATING
OPPORTUNITIES
FOR STUDENTS TO
KEEP WYOMING
STRONG



MEMORANDUM NO. 2019-003

TO: School District Superintendents

Title 1 Managers

FROM: Shelley Hamel, Chief Academic Officer

DATE: January 7, 2019

SUBJECT: 2018-19 National ESEA Distinguished

Schools Program

NATIONAL ESEA DISTINGUISHED SCHOOLS AWARD WINNERS

The Wyoming Department of Education (WDE) has announced Baldwin Creek Elementary School in Fremont School District #1 and Sheridan Junior High School in Sheridan County School District #2 as the 2018-19 National ESEA Distinguished School Award winners.

The National Association of ESEA (Elementary and Secondary Education Act) State Program Administrators selects examples of superior federally-funded school programs for national recognition through the National ESEA Distinguished Schools Program. Schools are selected by state educational agencies and must qualify under one of the following categories:

- Exceptional student performance for two or more consecutive years.
- · Closing the achievement gap between student groups.
- Excellence in serving special populations of students (e.g. homeless, migrant, English learners, etc.).

Baldwin Creek Elementary showed excellence in serving special populations of students in reading and mathematics. Fourth and fifth grade Native American students were proficient or advanced



JILLIAN BALOW

Superintendent of Public Instruction

DICKY SHANOR

Chief of Staff

SHELLEY HAMEL

Chief Academic Officer

KARI EAKINS

Chief Policy Officer

TRENT CARROLL

Chief Operations Officer



CHEYENNE OFFICE

122 W. 25th St. Suite E200 Cheyenne, WY 82002 307-777-7675

RIVERTON OFFICE

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 307-857-9250



ON THE WEB

edu.wyoming.gov twitter.com/WYOEducation facebook.com/WYOEducation in both reading and math. Sheridan Junior High School sixth, seventh, and eighth grade students demonstrated exceptional performance for two consecutive years in reading and math.

These two schools represent superior Title 1 programs, offer focused and innovative professional development opportunities for staff, show strong community involvement, and achieve success with individualized student programs. Moreover, both winning schools have poverty rates of at least 35 percent and exceeded expectations as established by the Wyoming Accountability in Education Act for at least two consecutive years.

For more information, contact Leslie Koch at less.koch1@wyo.gov or 307-777-6216.