CREATING OPPORTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS TO KEEP WYOMING STRONG



JILLIAN BALOW Superintendent of Public Instruction

DICKY SHANOR Chief of Staff

SHELLEY HAMEL Chief Academic Officer

MEGAN DEGENFELDER Chief Policy Officer

DIANNE BAILEY Chief Operations Office



CHEYENNE OFFICE

122 W. 25th St. Suite E200 Cheyenne, WY 82002 307-777-7675

RIVERTON OFFICE

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 307-857-9250



ON THE WEB

edu.wyoming.gov twitter.com/WYOEducation facebook.com/WYOEducation



MEMORANDUM NO. 2018-128

то:	School District Superintendents Principals Secondary Math and Science Teachers
FROM:	Megan Degenfelder, Chief Policy Officer
DATE:	November 26, 2018
SUBJECT:	2019 PAEMST Nomination Process

GRADES 7-12 NOMINATIONS OPEN FOR 2019 PRESIDENTIAL AWARDS EXCELLENCE IN MATH AND SCIENCE TEACHING

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is the highest recognition that a K-12 mathematics or science teacher can receive in the U.S. This year's awards will honor teachers of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM, including Computer Science) working in grades 7-12. This program authorizes the President to present 108 awards each year. Awards of \$10,000 are given to exemplary mathematics and science teachers in each of the 50 states and the four U.S. jurisdictions. These teachers are recognized for their contribution to excellence in teaching and learning. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their schools and communities, and leaders in the state and nation. This growing network of award-winning teachers serves as a vital national resource for the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Up to six finalists from each state will be selected through a rigorous peer-review process. Applications are then forwarded to

the National Science Foundation, where the final selection for the national Presidential Awardee is made.

Nominations close on March 1, 2019.

Wyoming school districts have had 29 teachers honored over the past 35 years of PAEMST. Teachers can be nominated at <u>www.paemst.org</u>.

For more information, contact Sharla Dowding, Science Consultant, at 307-777-8753 or <u>sharla.dowding@wyo.gov</u>, or Brian Cole, Math & Computer Science Consultant, at 307-777-5036 or <u>brian.cole@wyo.gov</u>.