CREATING
OPPORTUNITIES
FOR STUDENTS TO
KEEP WYOMING
STRONG



# **MEMORANDUM NO. 2018-060**

**TO:** School District Superintendents

**Principals** 

School Board Members

**FROM**: Megan Degenfelder, Chief Policy Officer

**DATE**: May 14, 2018

**SUBJECT**: Chapter 38 Public Comment: Hathaway Scholarship

# PUBLIC COMMENT ON CHAPTER 38 RULES: HATHAWAY SCHOLARSHIP

The WDE is promulgating Chapter 38 Rules regarding the Hathaway Scholarship Program and is now seeking public comment on the proposed rules. During the 2017 and 2018 legislative sessions, two new laws passed requiring changes to the Chapter 38 Rules: SEA 0056 (2017 legislative session) and HEA 0030 (2018 legislative session). These require the Department to establish rules, regulations, and minor changes to current laws. In addition to the two laws passed, minor changes to the remaining rules have been made in order to better reflect statutory language.

The comment window is open from May 11 through June 29, 2018. Comments can be <u>submitted online</u> or mailed to: Wyoming Department of Education Attn: Bradley Barker III 122 West 25th Street, Suite E200 Cheyenne, WY 82002

All public comments will be recorded verbatim, including the submitter's name and city of residence. When commenting, please specify which rule change the comment is concerning.

For questions, contact Bradley Barker III at <u>bradley.barker@wyo.gov</u> or 307-777-6226.



# **JILLIAN BALOW**

Superintendent of Public Instruction

#### **DICKY SHANOR**

Chief of Staff

#### **BRENT BACON**

Chief Academic Officer

# **MEGAN DEGENFELDER**

Chief Policy Office

#### **DIANNE BAILEY**

Thief Operations Office



# **CHEYENNE OFFICE**

122 W. 25th St. Suite E200 Cheyenne, WY 82002 307-777-7675

#### **RIVERTON OFFICE**

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 307-857-9250



### ON THE WEB

edu.wyoming.gov twitter.com/WYOEducation facebook.com/WYOEducation