

#### **Jillian Balow**

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Dicky Shanor
Chief of Staff

#### Brent Bacon

Chief Academic Officer

## Megan Degenfelder Chief Policy Officer

**Dianne Bailey**Chief Operations Officer

#### **Cheyenne Office**

Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-2060 Phone: (307) 777-675 Fax: (307) 777-6234

#### **Riverton Office**

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

#### On the Web

edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com twitter.com/WYOEducation facebook.com/WYOEducation

### **MEMORANDUM NO. 2017-117**

**TO:** School District Superintendents

Principals

Curriculum Directors Scholarship Coordinators School Counselors

FROM: Megan Degenfelder, Chief Policy Officer

**DATE**: October 30, 2017

**SUBJECT**: Hathaway Scholarship Day

# HATHAWAY DAY TO BE CELEBRATED ON NOVEMBER 16

In recognition of the Hathaway Scholarship Program, November 16 is being celebrated as Hathaway Scholarship Day. Please take a few minutes out of your day to congratulate students for pursuing their Hathaway Scholarship. The Wyoming Department of Education has developed the attached resources to help promote Hathaway Scholarship Day.

There are certificates which can be given to sixth-grade students to encourage them to start working toward the Hathaway Scholarship, as well as posters which point students of all ages to more information on the scholarship program.

Anyone can participate by going on Facebook or Twitter to say how they hope to use the Hathaway Scholarship with #HathawayDay. They can also complete one of the attached worksheets and send it to the WDE at <a href="https://hathawayscholarship@wyo.gov">hathawayscholarship@wyo.gov</a>. All students who participate will be entered into a raffle to receive a gift from the Hathaway Scholarship Program.

More information about the Hathaway Scholarship Program is available at <a href="https://www.hathawayscholarship.org">www.hathawayscholarship.org</a>.

For questions, please contact Bradley Barker or Jennifer LaHiff at <a href="https://hathawayscholarship@wyo.gov">hathawayscholarship@wyo.gov</a>.