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MEMORANDUM 2007 - 057
TO: School District Superintendents

FROM: Mary Kay Hill, Directom

Administration Unit
DATE: March 16, 2007

SUBJECT: Chapter 30- Rules and Regulations Governing Private
School Registration/Licensing for Private Degree
Granting Post-Secondary Education Institutions

PLEASE READ AND RESPOND AS NECESSARY

Please find enclosed final rules and the signed certification page for
Chapter 30 — Rules and Regulations Governing Private School
Registration/Licensing for Private Degree Granting Post-Secondary
Degree Granting Institutions. These rules were certified by the
Wyoming Department of Education on January 11, 2007 and by
Governor Freudenthal on February 27, 2007.

If you have any questions or need further information, please contact
Jennifer Duncan at (307) 777-6213.

Thank you.
MKH: jd

Enclosures



Appendix A

CERTIFICATION PAGE FOR RULES

Adoption Date: January 11, 2007
To guarantee review by the Secretary of State within the 75 day deadline, this package
must be submitted to the Secretary of State by:  March 26, 2007

GENERAL INFORMATION:

1. Agency: Wyoming Department of Education
Address: 2300 Capitol Avenue, 2™ Floor Hathaway Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Agency Contact Person for these Rules: Jennifer Duncan
Work Telephone: (307) 777-6213

2. Are these new rules? (“new” —means the first set of regular rules to be
promulgated by this agency after the Legislature adopted a new statutory provision or
significantly amended an existing statute) Yes_ X No

3. Chapter # and name of rules being created, amended or repealed: Chapter 30,
Rules and Regulations for Private School Registration/I icensing for Private Degree
Granting Post-Secondary Education Institutions

4. Does this rule replace an existing rule? Yes x No If yes, which
chapter(s)?_Chapter 30, Private School Licensing for Post Secondary Degree Granting
Institutions

NOTICE OF INTENDED RULEMAKING TO AG, LSO AND SECRETARY OF STATE

5. Notice of intended rulemaking containing all of the information required by W.S.
16-3-103(a) was filed with the Secretary of State on:  October 23. 2006

6. Notice of intended rulemaking and proposed rules in strike and underscore
format were provided to the Legislative Service Office and courtesy copies of the notice
and proposed rules were provided to the Attorney General and the Governor on: October
23, 2006.

PUBLIC NOTICE OF INTENDED RULEMAKING:

7. Yes x_No___(If applicable) Notice was mailed 45 days in advance to all
persons who make a timely request for advance notice.

8. Yes  No_x__ A public hearing was held on the proposed rules on:

30-i1



FINAL FILING FOR RULES:

9. Yes x No A Disk with an exact copy of the attached rules is attached or the
electronic copy was sent via electronic mail to the Secretary of State on January 12, 2007.

10. Final rules with original signatures were sent to the Attorney General’s office for
the Governor’s signature on January 11, 2007.

11. Final rules were sent to the Legislative Service Office on January 12, 2007.

CERTIFICATION BY AGENCY:

The undersigned certifies that the foregoing information is correct.

Date: January 11, 2007 QWC g’éﬁ‘/

State Suprintendent of Public Instruction
GOVERNOR’S CERTIFICATION .

I have reviewed these rules and determined that they:

(1) are within the scope of the statutory authonty delegated to the adopting
agency; and

(2) appear to be within the scope of the legislative purpose of the ; statuto
authority.

Therefore, I approve the same.

2/22 /07

Dafe Approved Governor

STATE OF WYOMING

Off ce of the Secretary
30 - iii Filed the ..Q___day of
S\ at 190 A M
Max Maxfield
Secretary of State




CHAPTER 30

anate School Registration / Llcensmg for Private Degree Granting Post- Secondary
Education Institutions

Section 1. Authority.

. These rules are promulgated pursuant to Wyo. Stat. §§ 21-2-202(a)(i) and 21-2-
401 through 21-2-407.

Section 2. Purpose.

The purpose of these rules is to establish a process and procedure for the
regulation, operation and registration of private degree granting post secondary education
institutions and implement the provisions contained in Wyo. Stat. §§ 21-2-401 throuah
21-2-407.

Section 3. Applicability.

These rules govern the operation of a11 pnvate degree granting post secondary
education institutions which operate or do business in the State or intend to operate and
do business in the State. These rules do not apply to those organizations and institutions
specifically exempt by law, as contained in Wyo. Stat. § 21-2-406.

Section 4. Promulgation, Amendment or Repeal of Rules.

‘The promulgation, amendment or repeal of rules shall become effective as
provided by the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act (Wyo. Stat. §§ 16-3-101 -
through 16-3-115). ’ '

"~ Section 5. Definitions.

(a)  “Accredited” means accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by
the United States Department of Education.

(b)  “Agent” means any person representing a private degree granting post
secondary education institution, who solicits business or students in any public school
within the State. This includes those individuals employed to solicit resident students by
schools or institutions located outside the State which are similar to schools or
institutions specified under Wyo. Stat. § 21-2-402.

(©) “Applicant” means any private degree granting post secondary education
institution seeking registration by the Department under these rules.

(d)  “Attorney General” means the Attorney General of the State of Wyoming.



(e) “Candidate” means a candidate for accreditation or institution otherwise in
the application process that has applied for accreditation with an accrediting agency
recognized by the United States Department of Education and is being considered for
candidacy status for accreditation by that association and is in the process of gathering
‘information and performing activities requested by that association to complete the
apphcatmn process.

H “Degree” means any award, earned or honorary, conferred with the
designation of associate, baccalaureate, master, professional, specialist or doctorate.

(g)  “Department” means the Wyoming Department of Education.

(h) “Private degree granting post secondary education institution” means any
institution, all trade, correspondence, distarice education, technical, business, or other
private schools, offering a degree, earned or honorary, conferred with the designation of
associate, baccalaureate, master, professmnal specialist or doctorate; may be referred to

“institution” in this document.

1) “Proof of accreditation” means a statement of affiliation status, a
certificate of accreditation, or formal notification from a recognized accreditation agency
as accepted by the Department.

6)) “Recognized accreditation agency” means an accrediting agency
recognized by the United States Department of Education.

) “Registration” means a non-transferable certificate granted and issued by
the Wyoming Department of Education to a private degree granting post secondary
education institution.

¢)) “Superintendent” means the Wyoming State Superintendent of Public
Instruction. :

Section 6. Registration.

(&)  All private degree granting post secondary education institutions shall
apply annually to the Department for registration or renewal of registration in accordance
with the statutes, rules and regulations and policies of the Department.

(b)  The registration granted to a private degree granting post secondary

education institution shall be valid for a period of one (1) year, which will be measured
- from the first day of July preceding the date on which the registration was issued.
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(c):  Applications and renewals for registration with the Department shall be in
the manner and form prescribed by the Department.

(d) - By July 1%2006, any private degree granting post secondary education
institution licensed to operate or do business according to Wyo. Stat. § 21-2-401 et seq.
prior to July 1% 2006 shall comply with the requirements to register as an accredited
institution (see Section 7), or a candidate for accreditation (see Section 8), as stated within
rule, regulation and statute.

() The Department may grant extensions or exceptions to the July 1%
2006 deadline when it deems it necessary due to good cause demonstrated by the
applicant.

(e)  After July 1* 2006, any institution entering the State with the intent of
operating and doing business in the State as a private degree granting post secondary
education institution shall:

@) Notify the Department in writing of its intent to become a registered
institution. The notice shall include a brief description of the school and the courses that
will be offered; and,

(i1) Apply for registration with the Department as an accredited
institution (see Section 7) or a candidate for accreditation (see Section &) in the
appropriate manner within the first three (3) months of enrolling students.

63 The period of candidacy or otherwise in the application process status
shall not exceed five (5) years and shall expire at the end of the five (5) year period or at
the time the applicant is refused candidacy or application status or accreditation by the
accrediting association, or otherwise loses candidacy or application status, whichever
occurs first.

(g)  The institution shall not operate or conduct business in this State upon
expiration of the five (5) years or loss of candidacy or application status for accreditation.
Exceptions to this provision may be granted upon a determination by the Department that
good cause has been demonstrated by the applicant and an extension or an exception 1s
necessary and appropriate. Good cause does not exist and shall not be recognized by the
Department for the following reasons: :

, 6] Change of ownership, management or instructional staff by the
applicant; '
(i)  Change of location of the applicant’s campus;

(iii)  Change of programs of instruction;

(iv)  Change of financial status of applicant;



v) Change of name of institution; or
(vi) . Change of accrediting agency prior to achieving accreditation;
Section 7. Registration Requirements for Accredited Institutions.
(2) Institutions accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United
States Department of Education shall submit the following information or documents to

the Department for consideration for registration:

6)) Completé and accurate registration application in the form and
manner prescribed by the Department;

(i1) Official documentation or other verification of accreditation by an
accrediting association recognized by the United States Department of Education; and

(ii1) An annual registration fee of one hundred dollars (§100.00) in the
form of a certified check payable to the “Wyoming Department of Education.”

Section 8. Registration Requirements for Candidate/Applicant Institutions.

(a) . Institutions that are applicants or candidates for accreditation or
institutions otherwise in the accreditation process, subject to Section 6 of these Rules,
shall submit the following information or documents to the Department for consideration
for registration:

Y Complete and accurate registration application in the form and
manner prescribed by the Department of Education;

(if) Official verification or proof of acceptance as a candidate or
applicant for accreditation by a recognized accrediting agency;

(ii1) An annual registration fee of ohe thousand dollars ($1000.00) in the
form of a certified check payable to the “Wyoming Department of Education”; .

(iv) A performance bond or other form of security in the amount of ten
thousand dollars ($10,000.00) on a form approved by the Attorney General;

(A)  The performance bond or other form of security shall be
renewed annually as long as the school retains registration and applicant status for
accreditation.
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(B)  The Department is the custodian of all bonds and other
securities filed under this Section and may render administrative, but not legal assistance,
to all aggrieved persons who may be entitled to relief under the bond.

(C) A finding by the Department that any institution practiced
fraud, made any fraudulent representation, or violated any statute, rule or regulation
relating to the application for registration or operation of the institution may result in
forfeiture of the full amount of the bond and loss of the registration certificate.

(b)  For registration by the Department, applicants or candidates for
accreditation, in addition to submitting the required application and documentation, shall
assist the Department in development of a plan that monitors the progress of the
institution towards obtaining accreditation. '

(1) The plan shall include a detailed timeline specifying the critical
milestones to be undertaken by the institution to obtaln accreditation and the time that is
necessary to complete each item;

(11) The document shall be signed by the Department and the institution
and serve as a formal agreement between the parties to ensure the milestones will be
accomplished in accordance with the terms of the plan to maintain registration under the
applicant or candidate status;

(1) The plan shall include a provision which requires the institution to
provide a copy of any and all correspondence or documents, which relate to the
accreditation or applicant or candidacy status of the institution, to the Department in a
timely manner.

(c) The institution shall submit annual progress reports with the annual
renewal registration which outline the progress of the institution towards accomplishing
the items identified in the plan. The progress report shall include documentation from the
accrediting agency which supports progress towards, or accomplishment of the tasks
identified in the plan.

Section 9. Registration of Agents.
(a)  Prior to soliciting business or resident students in any public school within
the State, an agent shall submit the following documentation and items to the Department

for consideration for registration as an agent:

(1) Complete and accurate application for registration as an agent in the
form and manner prescribed by the Department of Education;

(i1) An annual registration fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) in the
form of a certified check payable to the “Wyoming Department of Education”,
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(iii) Copies of any documentation intended for distribution;

(iv) Brief description of market or school targeted and approach for
solicitation.

Section 10. Suspension, Revocation, Non-renewal of Registrations / Licenses.
(a) The Department may suspend, revoke or choose not renew the registration
or licensure of any private degree granting institution subject to the requirements of the

Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act (Wyo. Stat. §§ 16-3-101 through 16-3-117).

- (b)  Suspension, revocation and non-renewal proceeding shall be instituted in
the following instances:

(i) ‘ Loss of accreditation status; |
(1) Loss of accreditation candidacy or apblication status;
(iii) Fe;ilure to maiﬁtain the re;luire(‘:l' bond,
. @iv) Violation of ariy rule, regulation or federal or State statute;

v) Other instances when necessary to protect the interests of the State or
its citizens.

(c)  The institution shall be given ten (10) business days from the date the
notice was post-marked to demonstrate compliance with all lawful requirements to retain

its license or registration.

(d)  The Department shall notify the institution or its agent of the decision to
revoke, suspend or not renew a license or registration by certified mail, receipt requested.

(e) The date for purposes of calculating the various timelines related to the
notice of suspension, revocation or non-renewal shall be the date as evidence by the

postmark on the notification of suspension, revocation or non-renewal.

(f)  The notification of suspension, revocation or non-renewal shall contain the
following provisions: ' '

(1) The facts or conduct which warrant the intended action;

(i) The institution will be given ten (10) business days to demonstrate
‘compliance with all lawful requirements for retention of the license or registration;
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(i) The institution has the ability to. request a contested case proceeding,
within forty-five (45) days of the date postmarked on the notice, to appeal the
Department’s decision to revoke, suspend or not renew the institution’s license or
registration in accordance with the provisions of the Wyoming Administrative Procedure
Act (Wyo. Stat. § 16-3-101 et seq).

Section 11. Appeal Procedures.

(a) The institution has forty-five (45) calendar days from the post-marked date
on the notice to request a contested case hearing regarding the license or registration
revocation, suspension or non-renewal. Any requests made after the forty-five (45) day
period will not be granted unless “good cause” had been demonstrated. .

_ (b)  Contested case proceedings shall be conducted in accordance with the
Department’s rules and regulations and the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act
(Wyo. Stat. § 16-3-101 et seq.). '

(c) License suspension, revocation or non-renewal shall become effective
upon expiration of the forty-five (45) day period or conclusion of a contested case
proceeding if the Department finds the suspension, revocation or non—renewal 1s
warranted by the substant1a1 weight of the evidence.

Section 12. Penalties and Prohibitions.

()  Any person violating the provisions of Wyo. Stat. § 21-2-401 et seq. is
guilty of a misdemeanor pumshable by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars
($1,000.00), by imprisonment in the county jail not to exceed six (6) months, or both.:

(b)  Each solicitation of enrollment or each transaction of business without a
license, registration certificate or without providing notification to the Department
constitutes a separate offense. -

(©) Any person violating the provisions of the applicable statutes and rules
and regulations may also be enjoined from the continuation of the violation by
proceedings brought by the Attorney General, any district attorney, any school official or
any aggrieved citizen, regardless of whether criminal proceedings have been instituted.

(d)  No private degree granting post secondary education institution shall file
an application for registration, nor shall any registration be granted to any institution,
where the institution has any past or present common ownership, management, marketing
or other operation of any kind with an institution whose license or registration has been
suspended, revoked or not renewed under these rules.

, (e) No official or employee of the Department, any college or university
within the State or any school district within the State shall permit the school or
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- institution, or proprietor or agent thereof, to solicit business in any public school within
the State and/or provide any list of students or other list of prospects to the school,
institution or proprietor or agent thereof unless the school or institution, or proprietor or
its agent is currently licensed, registered or has provided notification as required under
these rules and regulations ‘

H No school or institution licensed, registered or providing notification in
accordance with these rules shall claim or advertise to prospective or enrolled students
that it is accredited in the United States uriless the named accrediting association,
commission or other entity is approved by the United States Department of Education
and the institution is registered by the Department in accordance with rule, regulation and
statute. '

Section 13. Exemptions.

(2) The following schools and institutions are exempt according to statute
from the above requirements and registration with the Department is not necessary:

(i) - Any parochial, church or religious school as defined by Wyo. Stat. §
21-4-101(a)(iv) which is maintained by a church, religious denomination or religious
organization comprised of multi-denominational members of the same recognized
religion, lawfully operating the school or institution pursuant to applicable laws
governing its organization and the school or institution offers elementary and secondary
education programs only. '

_ (i1) A home-based educational program as defined by Wyo. Stat. § 21-4-
101(a)(v); ' : _

(1)  Aircraft flight training schools approved and authorized by the
federal aviation agency of the United States of America; or

(iv) A non-degree granting school teaching techniques of outdoor
recreation, leadership, ecology or conservation domiciled in the State of Wyoming.
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