MINUTES State Board of Education Meeting August 13, 2007 Conference Call

State Board members present: Pam Anderson, Bill Anthony, Mel Baldwin, Matt Garland, Matt Garland, Jim Lowham, Larry McGarvin, Jeff Marsh, Jim McBride, Jan Torres

State Board members absent: Sandy Barton, Dana Mann-Tavegia

Also present: Joe Simpson, Wyoming Department of Education (WDE); Mary Kay Hill, WDE; Jennifer Duncan, WDE; Jennifer Stone, Attorney General (AG); Kay Post, WDE; Tim Lockwood, WDE

Members of the Press and Public Present (all by telephone): Annette Bohling, North Central Association on Accreditation and School Improvement, (NCA); Dan Coe, Superintendent, Big Horn #2; Dan Stephen, Wyoming Association of School Administrators; Kathryn Valido, Wyoming Education Association; Andrew Schenkel, Channel 13 News; Shon Hocker, Superintendent Big Horn #1

CALL TO ORDER

Vice - Chairman Jim Lowham called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m. via conference call.

Jennifer Duncan conducted roll call, and it was established that a quorum was present.

REVIEW OF ACCREDITATION PROCESS

Kay Post reviewed the history of NCA. School districts have the choice to use the NCA accreditation process or the state accreditation process. All but one district, Sheridan #1, use the NCA process.

Kay presented the 46 school districts that are being reviewed for accreditation, the institutions that are being recommended for accreditation, the two districts that are being recommended for accreditation with follow up. Misassignment reports as well as the visitation schedule were provided. A summary of districts visited in 2006-2007 was provided as well.

Annette Bohling with NCA presented the detailed information of accreditation visits and information for the districts and institutions.

ACCREDITATION RECOMMENDATION - SCHOOLS

BILL ANTHONY MOVED THAT ALL 46 SCHOOL DISTRICTS (LISTED BELOW) BE RECOMMENDED FOR FULL ACCREDITATION BE ACCREDITED.

Albany CSD #1	Fremont CSD #25	Sheridan CSD #1
Big Horn CSD #1	Goshen CSD #1	Sheridan CSD #2
Big Horn CSD #2	Hot Springs CSD #1	Sheridan CSD #3
Big Horn CSD #3	Johnson CSD #1	Sublette CSD #1
Big Horn CSD #4	Laramie CSD #1	Sublette CSD #9
Campbell CSD #1	Laramie CSD #2	Sweetwater CSD #1
Carbon CSD #1	Lincoln CSD #1	Sweetwater CSD #2
Converse CSD #1	Lincoln CSD #2	Teton CSD #1
Converse CSD #2	Natrona CSD #1	Uinta CSD #1
Crook CSD #1	Niobrara CSD #1	Uinta CSD #4
Fremont CSD #1	Park CSD #1	Uinta CSD #6
Fremont CSD #2	Park CSD #6	Washakie CSD #1
Fremont CSD #6	Park CSD #16	Washakie CSD #2
Fremont CSD #14	Platte CSD #1	Weston CSD #1
Fremont CSD #21	Platte CSD #2	Weston CSD #7
Fremont CSD #24		

PAM ANDERSON SECONDED THE MOTION

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY BY ROLL CALL VOTE

ACCREDITATION RECOMMENDATION - INSTITUTIONS

Annette Bohling presented the institutional schools that are being recommended for accreditation. They follow the same process as the K-12 schools.

The institutional schools that are being recommended for accreditation are as follows:

Attention Homes, Inc.

Big Horn Basin Children's Center (Northwest BOCES)

C-V Ranch (Region V BOCES)

Cathedral Home for Children

Jeffrey C. Wardle Academy (Frontier Corrections)

Normative Services

Powder River Basin Children's Center (Northeast BOCES)

Red Top Meadows

St. Joseph's Children's Home

Wyoming Boys' School (Colter High School)

Wyoming Girls' School

Wyoming State Hospital (Pioneer School)

LARRY MCGARVIN MOVED THAT THE INSTITUTIONAL SCHOOLS (LISTED BELOW) RECOMMENDED FOR ACCREDITATION BE GRANTED FULL ACCREDITATION.

Attention Homes, Inc.
Big Horn Basin Children's Center (Northwest BOCES)
C-V Ranch (Region V BOCES)
Cathedral Home for Children
Jeffrey C. Wardle Academy (Frontier Corrections)
Normative Services
Powder River Basin Children's Center (Northeast BOCES)
Red Top Meadows
St. Joseph's Children's Home
Wyoming Boys' School (Colter High School)
Wyoming Girls' School
Wyoming State Hospital (Pioneer School)

BILL ANTHONY SECONDED THE MOTION

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY PER ROLL CALL VOTE.

ACCREDITATION WITH FOLLOW UP RECOMMENDATIONS

Annette Bohling provided information to the Board regarding the two districts being recommended for accreditation with follow up. Carbon #2 and Fremont #38 completed the paperwork required for accreditation and sent in their school improvement plans and received the oversight, however, they missed the third accreditation requirement of hiring professional, certified staff. Because of this, Annette is recommending full accreditation with follow up since they hired staff that did not have the necessary certification requirements. Joe Simpson added that there are six improvement areas that the WDE will be working on with Fremont #38. He added that both districts will need to submit a corrective action plan with items to follow through on to move to full accreditation. Mel Baldwin asked that the Board be kept apprised of Fremont #38's progress since they have many areas to remediate. Joe Simpson reassured him that they would be posting the corrective action plans as well as comments and action. The Board will be updated on the status of these districts at their regular meetings.

BILL ANTHONY MOVED THAT CARBON COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT #2 AND FREMONT COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT #38 BE GRANTED FULL ACCREDITATION WITH FOLLOW UP.

LARRY MCGARVIN SECONDED THE MOTION.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY PER ROLL CALL VOTE

ADJOURNMENT

Vice - Chairman Jim Lowham adjourned the meeting at 2:35 p.m.