Tag Archives: Individual Learning

Special Education Director of the Year Honored at WAVE Conference

Carolyn Conner, Wyoming’s 2016 Special Education Director of the Year

CHEYENNE – Wyoming’s 2016 Special Education Director of the Year, Carolyn Conner, was honored on Wednesday morning at the Week of Academic Vision and Excellence (WAVE) Conference in Cheyenne.

Conner has worked at Northwest Wyoming Board of Cooperative Educational Services (NW BOCES) and Big Horn Basin Children’s Center in Thermopolis for 32 years and has served as the Administrative Director since 2001. NW BOCES is a licensed Residential Treatment Facility that provides mental health programs and services for emotionally disturbed youth and their families.

“Carolyn has made significant contributions through her leadership, guidance, and support of students, staff and families,” said Lisa Weigel, Chief Policy Officer at the Wyoming Department of Education. “We salute her efforts and the positive impact she has made throughout her professional journey.”

“Since we’ve started the program for emotionally disturbed youth, 84 percent of the students that have graduated the program have actually not had to re-enter another residential program,” said Conner. “I have just developed a passion for this place. I really believe in the services that are offered at NW BOCES and have enjoyed serving the students, the parents, and the community.”

In addition to her role at NW BOCES, Conner serves as Treasurer of the Wyoming Association of Special Education Administrators, and has assisted with coaching Special Olympics basketball and cross country skiing for several years.

The Wyoming Special Education Director of the Year is an honor given annually to a special education administrator demonstrating successful leadership experiences, extensive knowledge of special education procedures and programming, and who has served as an advocate for improving outcomes for students, staff and families in the special education field. Potential candidates are nominated and selected through the Wyoming Association of Special Education Administrators.


Special Education Director of the Year Video

Media Contact:
Kari Eakins, Communications Director