

Jillian Balow Superintendent of Public Instruction

> Dicky Shanor Chief of Staff

Brent Bacon Chief Academic Officer

Brent Young Chief Policy Officer

Dianne Bailey Chief Operations Officer

~

Cheyenne Office Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor

2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-0206 Phone: (307) 777-7690 Fax: (307) 777-6234

Riverton Office 320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

On the Web edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com

MEMORANDUM NO. 2016-047

TO:	School District Superintendents Eighth Grade Principals Eighth Grade Counselors
FROM:	Brent Young, Chief Policy Officer
DATE:	March 28, 2016
SUBJECT:	2015-16 Hathaway Scholarship Unit of Study Certification

HATHAWAY SCHOLARSHIP UNIT OF STUDY CERTIFICATION FORM DUE JUNE 17

All districts with schools serving 8th grade students must submit the 2015-16 Hathaway Scholarship Unit of Study certification form by **June 17, 2016**. The Eighth Grade Unit of Study is required by Hathaway Scholarship Program Statute 21-16-1308(b)(i)(C), which is the provision of instruction regarding preparation for postsecondary work.

The Hathaway Scholarship Unit of Study certification is one of the Assurances elements included in the accreditation recommendation process. The Hathaway Scholarship Unit of study certification can be found <u>here</u>.

For additional information, please contact Bradley Barker III at 307-777-6226 or <u>bradley.barker@wyo.gov</u>; or Jennifer Peterson at 307-777-6840 or <u>jennifer.peterson@wyo.gov</u>.