

Cindy Hill, Superintendent 2300 Capitol Avenue Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor Cheyenne, WY 82002-2060 (307) 777-7690 edu.wyoming.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Visit <u>edu.wyoming.gov/press</u> for contact details

FRESH FRUIT AND VEGETABLE GRANT RECEIVED BY 146 WYOMING SCHOOLS

CHEYENNE - Wyoming Department of Education announced 146 elementary schools have been selected to receive the U.S. Department of Agriculture Fresh Fruit and Vegetable grants for school year 2014-2015. This grant will have an impact on 36,109 Wyoming elementary school kids.

The goals of the Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program grant are:

- Encourage healthier food choices in between meals.
- Expand the variety of fruits and vegetables children experience.
- Increase children's fruit and vegetable consumption.
- Make a difference in children's diets to impact their present and future health.

In order to receive a grant, an elementary school must:

- Operate the National School Lunch Program (NSLP)
- Submit an application
- Agree to make free fresh fruits and vegetables available to all enrolled children outside of regular meal service times.
- Advertise the program within the school.
- Provide nutrition education.
- Comply with USDA guidelines.
- Obtain support for the program from food service staff, teachers, principal and superintendent.

The 146 recipients of the SY14-15 USDA Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Grants are listed below.

For more information please contact Travis Hoff at (307) 777-2053 or travis.hoff@wyo.gov

page 1 of 5

Local Education Authority (LEA)

St. Laurence School Big Horn County School District #1 Big Horn County School District #1 Big Horn County School District #2 Big Horn County School District #3 Big Horn County School District #4 Big Horn County School District #4 Campbell County School District #1 Carbon County School District #2 Converse County School District #1 Converse County School District #2 Crook County School District #1 Crook County School District #1 Crook County School District #1 Fremont County School District # 2 Fremont County School District #14 Fremont County School District #21 Fremont County School District #25 Fremont County School District #25 Fremont County School District #25 Fremont County School District #25

St. Laurence School Laramie **Burlington Elementary** Burlington Rocky Mountain Elementary Cowley Lovell Elementary Lovell **Greybull Elementary** Greybull Laura Irwin Elementary Basin Manderson Elementary Manderson 4-J Elementary School Gillette **Cottonwood Elementary** Wright Hillcrest Elementary Gillette Little Powder Elementary Weston Meadowlark Elementary Gillette Lakeview Elementary Gillette **Rawhide Elementary** Gillette **Recluse School** Gillette **Rozet Elementary** Rozet Prairie Wind Elementary Gillette Wagonwheel Elementary Gillette Paintbrush Elementary Gillette Conestoga Elementary Gillette Sunflower Elementary Gillette **Pronghorn Elementary** Gillette Buffalo Ridge Elementary Gillette Elk Mountain Elementary Elk Mountain Hanna Elementary Hanna Medicine Bow Elementary Medicine Bow Saratoga Elementary Saratoga Encampment K-12 School Encampment Dry Creek Elementary Douglas **Douglas Primary School** Douglas Moss Agate Elementary Douglas Shawnee Elementary Douglas Walker Creek Elementary Douglas White Elementary Douglas **Douglas Intermediate School Douglas** Grant Elementary Glenrock Moorcroft Elementary Moorcroft Sundance Elementary Sundance Hulett School Hulett Dubois Elementary Dubois Wyoming Indian Elementary Ethete Ft. Washakie Elementary Ft. Washakie Ashgrove Elementary Riverton Jackson Elementary Riverton Aspen Park Elementary Riverton **Rendezvous Elementary** Riverton

Elementary School Name

City

Fremont County School District #38 St. Stephens Indian School Goshen County School District #1 Hot Springs County School District #1 Laramie County School District #2 Lincoln County School District #2 Natrona County School District #1 Natrona County School District #1

Arapahoe Elementary Arapahoe St. Stephens Indian School St. Stephens Southeast Elementary Yoder La Grange Elementary La Grange Lingle-Ft. Laramie Elem. Lingle Trail Elementary Torrington Lincoln Elementary Torrington **Ralph Witters Elementary** Thermopolis Alta Vista Elementary Chevenne Arp Elementary Cheyenne Baggs Elementary Chevenne Bain Elementary Cheyenne Buffalo Ridge Elementary Chevenne Cole Elementary Chevenne **Davis Elementary** Cheyenne **Deming Elementary** Cheyenne Dildine Elementary Chevenne Fairview Elementary Cheyenne **Gilchrist Elementary** Cheyenne **Goins Elementary** Chevenne Hebard Elementary Cheyenne Henderson Elementary Cheyenne Hobbs Elementary Chevenne Jessup Elementary Chevenne Cheyenne Lebhart Elementary Miller Elementary Chevenne **Pioneer Park Elementary** Chevenne Cheyenne **Rossman Elementary** Anderson Elementary Chevenne Afflerbach Elementary Chevenne Freedom Elementary Cheyenne Sunrise Elementary Chevenne Albin Elementary Albin Carpenter Elementary Carpenter Pine Bluffs Elementary Pine Bluffs **Burns** Elementary Burns Afton Elementary Afton Cokeville Elementary Cokeville **Thayne Elementary** Thayne Etna Elementary Etna Osmond Elementary Afton Evansville Elementary Evansville **Cottonwood Elementary** Casper **Grant Elementary** Casper Sagewood Elementary Casper Mills Elementary Mills Mountain View Elementary Casper

Natrona County School District #1 Park County School District # 6 Park County School District # 6 Park County School District # 6 Sheridan County School District #1 Sheridan County School District #2 Sheridan County School District #3 Sheridan County School District #3 Sublette County School District #1 Sweetwater County School District #2 Teton County School District #1 **Region V BOCES** Uinta County School District #4

North Casper Elementary Casper Park Elementary Casper **Pineview Elementary** Casper University Park Elementary Casper Willard Elementary Casper Bar Nunn Elementary Casper Midwest School Midwest Parkside Elementary Powell Southside Elementary Powell Westside Elementary Powell Eastside Elementary Codv Cody Sunset Elementary Glenn Livingston Elem. Cody Tongue River Elementary Ranchester Henry A. Coffeen Elem. Sheridan Highland Park Elementary Sheridan Story Elementary Story Woodland Park Elementary Sheridan Meadowlark Elementary Sheridan Sagebrush Elementary Sheridan Arvada Elementary Clearmont **Clearmont Elementary** Clearmont Pinedale Elementary Pinedale **Desert Elementary** Wamsutter **Desert View Elementary Rock Springs** Farson-Eden Elementary Farson Eastside Elementary **Rock Springs Overland Elementary Rock Springs** Walnut Elementary **Rock Springs** Northpark Elementary **Rock Springs** Westridge Elementary **Rock Springs** Pilot Butte Elementary **Rock Springs** Sage Elementary **Rock Springs** Lincoln Elementary **Rock Springs** Granger Elementary Granger Harrison Elementary Green River McKinnon Elementary McKinnon Washington Elementary Green River Jackson Elementary Green River Truman Elementary Green River Monroe Intermediate School Green River Alta Elementary Alta Wilson Elementary Wilson Colter Elementary Jackson Jackson Elementary J ackson **CV** Ranch Wilson Mountain View Elementary Mountain View Uinta County School District #4 Uinta County School District #6 Uinta County School District #6 Washakie County School District #1 Washakie County School District #1 Washakie County School District #1 Weston County School District #7 Ft. Bridger ElementaryMountain ViewUrie ElementaryLymanLyman Intermediate SchoolLymanEast Side ElementaryWorlandSouth Side ElementaryWorlandWest Side ElementaryWorlandUpton ElementaryUpton