

### Jillian Balow

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Dicky Shanor Chief of Staff

## Brent Bacon

Chief Academic Officer

Megan Degenfelder
Chief Policy Officer

**Dianne Bailey**Chief Operations Officer

## **Cheyenne Office**

Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-2060 Phone: (307) 777-7675 Fax: (307) 777-6234

#### **Riverton Office**

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

#### On the Web

edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com twitter.com/WYOEducation facebook.com/WYOEducation

## **MEMORANDUM NO. 2017-110**

**TO:** School District Superintendents

High School Principals

**FROM**: Megan Degenfelder, Chief Policy Officer

**DATE**: October 2, 2017

**SUBJECT**: U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

# NATIONAL RECOGNITION OPPORTUNITY

The Wyoming Department of Education (WDE) is looking to nominate Wyoming high school seniors for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

All high school students graduating between January and June of 2018 who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents that attend public, parochial, or independent schools, as well as those who are homeschooled are eligible to apply. The 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be selected by the Commission on Presidential Scholars and will receive the Presidential Scholars Medallion.

Students are selected either on the basis of outstanding scholarship abilities or for excellence in Career and Technical Education. Please note that there are two nomination forms: one for Scholarship & Academic Excellence, for which the Department can accept the nomination of up to ten men and ten women, and one for Career and Technical Education, for which the WDE can accept the nomination of up to five individuals.

To nominate a student, email the appropriate attached nomination form to <a href="mailto:bruce.hayes@wyo.gov">bruce.hayes@wyo.gov</a> by Friday, November 3, 2017. Please fill out one nomination form per student. Nominations must be made by a school or district employee. The national office will contact successfully-nominated students.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established by President Lyndon B. Johnson in 1964 and has honored thousands of outstanding students since that time. The mission of the program is to recognize

and honor superior high school seniors and thereby encourage high attainment among all students. To learn more about the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program and the Commission on Presidential Scholars, please visit <a href="https://www.ed.gov/psp">www.ed.gov/psp</a>.

For questions, contact Bruce Hayes at 307-777-6198 or <u>bruce.hayes@wyo.gov</u>.

Attachments:

Scholarship and Academic Excellence Nomination Form CTE Nomination Form