

Jillian Balow Superintendent of Public Instruction

> Dicky Shanor Chief of Staff

Brent Bacon Chief Academic Officer

Megan Degenfelder Chief Policy Officer

Dianne Bailey Chief Operations Officer

Cheyenne Office

Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-2060 Phone: (307) 777-7675 Fax: (307) 777-6234

Riverton Office

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

On the Web

edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com twitter.com/WYOEducation facebook.com/WYOEducation

MEMORANDUM NO. 2017-106

- School District Superintendents Principals Secondary Math and Science Teachers
 Megan Degenfelder, Chief Policy Officer
 DATE: September 25, 2017
- SUBJECT: 2017 PAEMST State Finalists

2017 PRESIDENTIAL AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE TEACHING STATE FINALISTS

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition that a K-12 mathematics, science, or computer science teachers can receive in the U.S. This year, Wyoming is honoring five state finalists:

- Math:
 - Amy Kassel, Cheyenne East High School
 - Joe Meyer, Lander Valley High School
 - John Hoogestraat, Jackson Hole Middle School
- Science:
 - Kristina Melin, Big Horn Middle School
 - James Stith, Newcastle High School

These finalists were chosen through a rigorous peer review process. Their applications are forwarded to the National Science Foundation where the final selection for the national Presidential Awardee is made. Enacted by Congress in 1983, the program authorizes the President to award 108 math and science teachers each year in recognition of their contribution to excellent teaching and learning.

For questions, contact Sharla Dowding, Science, at 307-777-8753 or <u>sharla.dowding@wyo.gov</u>, or Jill Stringer, Math, at 307-777-5036 or <u>jill.stringer@wyo.gov</u>.