

Jillian Balow Superintendent of Public Instruction

> Dicky Shanor Chief of Staff

Brent Bacon Chief Academic Officer

Lisa Weigel Chief Policy Officer

Dianne Bailey Chief Operations Officer

Cheyenne Office Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-2060 Phone: (307) 777-7675 Fax: (307) 777-6234

Riverton Office

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

On the Web edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com

MEMORANDUM NO. 2017-045

то:	School District Superintendents Eighth Grade Principals Eighth Grade Counselors High School Counselors
FROM:	Lisa Weigel, Chief Policy Officer

DATE: April 3, 2017

SUBJECT: 2016-17 Hathaway Scholarship Unit of Study Certification

HATHAWAY SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM: EIGHTH GRADE UNIT OF STUDY

All districts must submit the 2016-17 Hathaway Scholarship Unit of Study certification form for each school serving eighth grade students by June 16, 2017.

Wyoming Statute <u>21-16-1308(b)(i)(C)</u> requires that a one-week unit of instruction be provided by each school or district to all eighth-grade students concerning the Hathaway Scholarship Program and related topics in preparation for post-secondary education. Per the Statute, the topics must cover the following areas:

- 1. Preparation and curriculum requirements for post-secondary work
- 2. Standardized test requirements
- 3. Available scholarships for post-secondary education
- 4. Earning differences anticipated at various post-secondary education levels.

Eighth Grade Unit of Study resources, including the certification form, are located at this <u>link</u>.

For more information, contact Bradley Barker or Jennifer LaHiff at <u>hathawayscholarship@wyo.goy</u>.