

Jillian BalowSuperintendent of Public Instruction

Dicky Shanor Chief of Staff

Brent Bacon Chief Academic Officer

Lisa WeigelChief Policy Officer

Dianne BaileyChief Operations Officer

Cheyenne Office

Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-2060 Phone: (307) 777-7675 Fax: (307) 777-6234

Riverton Office

320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

On the Web

edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com

MEMORANDUM NO. 2017-032

TO: School District Superintendents

FROM: Lisa Weigel, Chief Policy Officer

DATE: March 20, 2017

SUBJECT: Moratorium on New Alternative Schools

MORATORIUM ON NEW ALTERNATIVE SCHOOLS

The legislature passed HB0236, now <u>HEA No. 125</u>, on March 3, 2017. This bill revises <u>W.S. 21-13-309</u> and establishes a moratorium on new alternative schools. The moratorium is effective March 15, 2017 through June 30, 2019. No new alternative schools will be approved by the Wyoming Department of Education during that time, and no new facilities may be constructed for alternative schools during that time.

Due to this change in legislation, applications for new alternative schools will not be accepted. Currently, existing alternative schools will continue to receive resources as in the past.

The joint education interim committee will conduct a study looking at existing alternative schools and other alternative student placement options.

For more information, please contact Dianne Frazer, Alternative School Consultant, at 307-777-8676 or <u>dianne.frazer@wyo.gov</u>.