

# Jillian Balow Superintendent of Public Instruction

Dicky Shanor Chief of Staff

Brent Bacon Chief Academic Officer

**Brent Young**Chief Policy Officer

**Dianne Bailey**Chief Operations Officer



# Cheyenne Office Hathaway Building, 2nd Floor 2300 Capitol Avenue Cheyenne WY 82002-0206 Phone: (307) 777-7690 Fax: (307) 777-6234

#### Riverton Office 320 West Main Riverton, WY 82501 Phone: (307) 857-9250 Fax: (307) 857-9256

### On the Web

edu.wyoming.gov wyomingmeasuresup.com

#### **MEMORANDUM NO. 2015-114**

**TO:** School District Superintendents

Title I Directors School Principals

**FROM:** Jonathon Lever, State Title I Director

School Support Division

DATE: September 28, 2015

**SUBJECT:** National Title I Distinguished Schools Application

## APPLICATION FOR NATIONAL TITLE I DISTINGUISHED SCHOOLS AWARD PROGRAM AVAILABLE

**APPLICATIONS DUE NOVEMBER 1** 

The Wyoming Department of Education announces the release of the <u>2015-2016 National Title I Distinguished Schools Program application</u>. The National Title I Distinguished Schools Program honors Title I schools across the country for their innovation in helping Title I populations achieve high educational standards.

Selected from each state by members of the National Title I Association, these schools represent examples of superior Title I programs and demonstrate a wide array of strengths, including offering focused and innovative professional development opportunities for staff, strong community involvement, and high success with individualized student programs.

Based on applications received, the Wyoming Department of Education will select one qualifying school, if applicable, for this honor in each of the following categories:

- 1. Exceptional student performance for two or more consecutive years; or
- 2. Closing the achievement gap between student groups.

In order to qualify under the above categories, schools must have:

- 1. A poverty rate of at least 35% for the selected year;
- 2. Demonstrated high academic achievement for two or more consecutive years;
- 3. Met or exceeded Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for at least two consecutive years;
- 4. Clearly demonstrated that it has met the criteria for the category it is applying for; and
- 5. Not been recognized as a Distinguished School during the previous two years.

The <u>application</u> and additional information are available on the WDE website (<a href="http://goo.gl/brRMGb">http://goo.gl/brRMGb</a>). The deadline to submit applications is November 1, 2015.

For questions, please contact Jonathon Lever at jon.lever@wyo.gov or 307-777-6216.