
 

 
MEMORANDUM NO. 2010-177  

 
 

TO:   School District Superintendents 
  School Principals 
  School Nurses 

 
FROM:    Jim McBride, Ed.D. 
  

DATE:   October 1, 2010 
 

SUBJECT: Immunizations 

 

 

INFORMATION TO SHARE 
 

Thank you for your patience and understanding related to the new 

immunization rules and regulations that were promulgated in August, 2010 by 
the Wyoming Department of Health.  While we are aware this information came 
at a difficult time, these new rules and regulations will ultimately keep our 

Wyoming students healthier and in school.   
 

We cannot change the law or push back the 30 day rule, but we can offer some 
guidance.  We have included a form that was developed by the Wyoming 
Department of Health’s Immunization program to assist with conditional 

attendance needs.  This form is not mandatory, but a way for administrators 
and school nurses to keep track of students who may not be able to comply 

within the first 30 days.  Ultimately, the local superintendent/school 
administrator/parents and students have the ability to adjust the compliance 
date as long as the process has been initiated.     

 
We have also attached the rules and regulations for your information. 
 

If you have further questions, please contact Meaghan McClellan, Prevention 
Education Consultant, Wyoming Department of Education at 307.777.3339 or 

mmccle@educ.state.wy.us  or Jan Bloom, Section Chief, Immunization Section, 
Wyoming Department of Health at 307.777.7952 or jan.bloom@health.wyo.gov 
 

 
JM/MMM/rs 

 
Attachments:  Conditional Attendance Form 
                       Immunization Rules and Regulations 

mailto:mmccle@educ.state.wy.us
mailto:jan.bloom@health.wyo.gov


CONDITIONAL ATTENDANCE FORM 

Section I.  This section should be completed by the local school district. 

Name of School: ________________________________________________________ Current Grade: _______ 

Student’s Name: __________________________________________________________________________________ 

                                                                Last                                                          First                                               Middle               

Student’s Date of Birth: ____/ _____/ ________ Sex: M   F   

Student’s Address: ________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ________________________________________________________________________________ 

                  City                                                               State                                           Zip 

 

Section II.  This section should be completed by the physician or                                                       

the person who administered the immunization(s). 

By signing below, I certify that this student is in the process of receiving immunizations required by the Wyoming Rules 

and Regulations for School Immunizations and that this student has a plan for the completion of his/her requirements.  

Next immunizations are due on ____________________________________ and will be completed by 

______________________________________.  

________________________________________________________________   _____________________ 

Signature of physician or person who administered immunization(s)   Date 

 

 

 

________________________________________________________________   _____________________ 

Stamp or address of physician or person who administered immunization(s)   Phone 

 

 

Section III.  This section must be signed by the parent or legal guardian. 

By signing below, I attest that I understand that this student is allowed to attend school on a conditional basis and agree to 

have this student vaccinated with the required immunizations, as outlined in Chapter 2 of the Wyoming Rules and 

Regulations for School Immunizations.  I also understand that if this student does not receive the required immunizations 

by the dates specified above, this student will be unable to attend school.  In addition, I understand that is my 

responsibility to provide proof of immunizations to the local school district by the dates specified in Section II.   

________________________________________________________________   _____________________ 

Signature of parent or legal guardian       Date 

 

 

________________________________________________________________   _____________________ 

Printed name of parent or legal guardian       Phone 
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CHAPTER 1 

 

Rules and Regulations for School Immunizations 

 

General Provisions 

 

Section 1. Authority. The Department of Health is promulgating rules and 

regulations for the management and control of communicable diseases to comply with 

W.S. § 35-1-240(a)(ii), W.S. § 35-4-101, W.S. § 21-4-309, and W.S. § 14-4-116, and the 

Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act of W.S. § 16-3-101, et seq.  

 

Section 2. Purpose.  This Chapter is adopted to establish guidelines, policies, 

and procedures related to immunizations for educational settings. 

 

Section 3.   Definitions.  When used in these rules and regulations, the 

following terms shall be defined as follows. 

  

(a)  “School” means any program that provides educational instruction 

designed to lead to a high school diploma or transfer into a regular high school or 

secondary program. 

 

(b)   "Child Caring Facility" means any person or entity that operates a 

business to keep or care for any individual at the request of the parents, legal guardians, 

or an agency, which is responsible for the individual, as defined by W.S. § 14-4-

101(a)(iv). 

 

(c)  "Pupil" means any person attending a school or child caring facility 

through twelfth grade or through the age of twenty-one (21) years. 

 

(d) "School Administrator" means the head administrator of a school. 

 

(e)  “Child Caring Facility Administrator" means any person in charge of a 

child caring facility. 

 

(f)  "State Health Officer" means the licensed physician appointed by the 

Director of the Wyoming Department of Health or his designee who carries out the 

statutory duties and any other duties assigned, as defined by W.S. § 21-4-309(d). 

 

(g)  "County Health Officer" means the licensed medical officer designated by 

the county commissioners to serve as health officer for his county, as defined by W.S. § 

21-4-309(d). 

 

(h)  "Immunized or immunization" means initial immunization and any 

boosters or reimmunizations required to maintain immunization pursuant to the 

immunization standards and recommendations issued by the State Health Officer.
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(i) “Emancipated” means conferral of certain rights of majority upon a minor 

and includes a minor who: 

 

(i) Is or was married. 

 

(ii) Is in the military service of the United States. 

 

(iii) Has received a declaration of emancipation pursuant to W.S. § 14-

1-203. 

 

(j) “School Nurse” means a nursing professional employed as a full-time, 

part-time, or contract employee in a Wyoming school and licensed to provide healthcare 

in Wyoming. 

 

(k) “Wyoming Immunization Registry” (WyIR) means the secure, 

confidential, web-based, immunization database maintained within or otherwise 

supervised by the Wyoming Department of Health. 

 

Section 4.  Applicability. 

 

(a)  These regulations shall apply to all pupils attending, full or part time, any 

public or private school or child caring facility. 

 

(b)  No School Administrator or Child Caring Facility Administrator shall 

retain any pupil thirty (30) days after entry without official written documented proof of 

immunization according to the schedule published by the State Health Officer except 

when there are exemptions as noted in these regulations. Pupils who are exempt from 

immunizations shall remain in school during an appeal process unless there is a vaccine-

preventable disease outbreak as defined by Section 5(c) of this Chapter. 

 

(c)  A pupil who requires a series of immunizations over a period of more than 

thirty (30) calendar days shall be permitted to attend school while receiving continuing 

immunization if the School Administrator receives written notification by a licensed 

private physician or his representative or by a public health official specifying a written 

schedule for necessary immunization completion within the medically-accepted time 

period. 

 

 Section 5. Exemptions. 

 

  (a)  Medical exemption.  A pupil shall not be required to have any 

immunizations which are medically contraindicated.  The State Health Officer or County 

Health Officer shall grant a medical exemption from the specific immunization 

requirement in these regulations upon receiving a signed and notarized Wyoming 

Department of Health Medical Exemption form. This form must be accompanied by 
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written evidence from any physician licensed to practice medicine in any jurisdiction of 

the United States, that the administration of the specific immunization is medically 

contraindicated to the pupil. The exemption shall be maintained by the school as part of 

the immunization record of the pupil. 

 

(b)  Religious exemption.  A pupil shall be exempted from mandatory 

immunizations based on evidence of a truly held and genuine religious objection. The 

parent or guardian shall sign a notarized Wyoming Department of Health Religious 

Exemption form stating that the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with his 

religious tenets and religious practices. This exemption will be maintained by the school 

as part of the immunization record of the pupil.  Approved Religious Exemptions must be 

renewed upon entry into the seventh grade.   

 

(c)  Vaccine-preventable disease outbreak.  In the presence of an outbreak of a 

vaccine-preventable disease, as determined by the State Health Officer or County Health 

Officer, pupils who have been granted a Medical or Religious Exemption and others who 

are not fully immunized against the specific disease occurring shall be excluded from 

attendance for a period of time determined by the State Health Officer or County Health 

Officer. Pupils excluded from attendance under this section shall not be counted in the 

aggregate number of pupils absent as defined in W.S. § 21-13-101(a)(i). 

 

(d) Emancipated or adult-aged pupils.  Any pupil over the age of eighteen 

(18) years or any pupil who is legally emancipated who wishes to apply for a Medical or 

Religious Exemption shall submit a Medical Exemption or Religious Exemption form on 

his own behalf and shall be responsible for providing any supporting medical 

documentation which may be necessary to help determine exemption status.   

 

(e) Appeals.  If a parent or emancipated or adult-aged pupil objects to the 

State Health Officer or a County Health Officer’s ruling on a Medical Exemption, the 

parent or emancipated or adult-aged pupil may request a review and final decision by the 

State Health Officer. The pupil shall remain in school during any appeal process unless 

there is a vaccine-preventable disease outbreak as defined by Section 5(c) of this Chapter. 

 

Section 6.  Immunization Records. 

 

(a) Every Child Caring Facility and School shall maintain a record of 

immunization for every pupil on the forms supplied by the Wyoming Department of 

Health. If a pupil transfers to another school, this record shall be sent to the new school 

by the original school of attendance. 

 

(b) School Nurses shall be allowed to review and may retain immunization 

information for any pupil currently residing in or who will be moving into the school 

district in which the School Nurse in employed.  Such review and retention will ensure 

that immunization information is appropriately documented and retained for every pupil. 
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(c)  The following documents will be accepted as evidence of a pupil's 

immunization history, provided that the day, month, and year of each required 

immunization that was administered is documented: 

 

(i)  An official school immunization record from any school indicating 

compliance with the immunization requirements of these regulations. 

 

(ii)  An immunization record from any local or state Public Health 

Department or unit indicating compliance with the immunization requirements of these 

regulations. 

 

(iii)  A certificate signed by a physician licensed to practice medicine in 

any jurisdiction of the United States indicating compliance with the immunization 

requirements of these regulations. 

 

(iv) An Official State Record of Immunization report generated from 

the Wyoming Immunization Registry. 

 

(v) An Official Record generated by a school-district-operated student 

information system, such as Power School. 

 

(vi) A report from a certified laboratory or acknowledgement from a 

pupil’s healthcare provider that confirms serologic immunity to measles, mumps, rubella, 

hepatitis A, hepatitis B, or varicella.  This report may serve as documentation in lieu of 

vaccination for these specific diseases. 

 

(vii) A written statement from a parent (or legal guardian or managing 

conservator), school nurse, or physician attesting to a pupil’s positive history of varicella 

disease or of varicella immunity.  This statement is acceptable in lieu of a vaccination or 

serology report for this disease. 

 

(d)  The School Administrator and the Child Caring Facility Administrator 

shall make immunization records available to the School or Child Caring Facility for 

inspection and review by authorized representatives of the Wyoming Department of 

Health. 

 

Section 7.  Exclusion from Child Caring Facilities and Schools During 

Communicable Disease Outbreaks.  In case of a vaccine-preventable disease outbreak, all 

pupils who are not fully immunized against the occurring vaccine preventable disease 

shall be excluded from attending School or a Child Caring Facility during the existence 

of the outbreak as determined by the State Health Officer or County Health Officer. 

Individuals excluded shall include pupils granted a medical or religious exemption and 

individuals without documented proof of complete immunization or serologic evidence of 

immunity in accordance with Section 6 herein. 
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Section 8.  Reports Required. A report of the immunization status and 

conditional enrollment of pupils in every School and Child Caring Facility shall be sent 

once a year to the Wyoming Department of Health by the School Administrator and 

Child Caring Facility Administrator. Forms and method of submission shall be provided 

by the Wyoming Department of Health.  Data shall be submitted to the Wyoming 

Department of Health no later than November 1 of each year. 

 

Section 9.  Immunizations Required. Immunizations required and 

recommended by the State Health Officer are based on national 

immunization recommendations published by the Advisory Committee on Immunization 

Practices (ACIP). These immunization requirements and recommendations are utilized by 

the Wyoming Department of Health as standard medical practice. Immunization 

recommendations change periodically based on development and licensure of new 

vaccines and/or modification of administration schedules based on present and ongoing  

medical scientific research.  
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CHAPTER 2 

 

Rules and Regulations for School Immunizations 

 

School Immunization Guidelines 

 

Section 1. Authority.  The Department of Health is promulgating rules and 

regulations for the management and control of communicable diseases to comply with 

W.S. § 35-1-240(a)(ii), W.S. § 35-4-101, W.S. § 21-4-309, and W.S. § 14-4-116, and the 

Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act of W.S. § 16-3-101, et seq.  

 

 Section 2. Purpose.  This Chapter is adopted to define required and 

recommended immunizations for pupils attending schools in Wyoming. 

 

Section 3. Minimum Immunization Requirements.*  Immunizations required 

and recommended by the State Health Officer in this Chapter are based on national 

immunization recommendations published by the Advisory Committee on Immunization 

Practices (ACIP). 

  
(a) Child Caring Facility (applies to children over six (6) months of age).* 

 

(i) A vaccine administered up to four (4) days prior to the minimum 

age for that vaccine is considered compliant with that vaccine administration schedule. 

 

(ii) Age appropriately immunized after six (6) months of age. 

 

(b) Kindergarten through Sixth (6
th

) Grade. * 

 

(i) A vaccine administered up to four (4) days prior to the minimum 

age for that vaccine is considered compliant with that vaccine administration schedule. 

 

(ii) Five (5) valid doses are required of diphtheria/tetanus/pertussis-

containing vaccines.
 1
 

 

(iii) Three (3) or four (4) valid doses are required of inactivated 

poliovirus vaccine (IPV).
 2

  

 

(iv) Two (2) valid doses are required of measles/mumps/rubella 

(MMR) vaccine.
 
 

 

(v) Three (3) valid doses are required of hepatitis B vaccine.

(vi) Completed valid series is required of Haemophilus influenzae type 

b (Hib) vaccine. 
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(vii) Two (2) valid doses are required of varicella (or history of 

disease). 

(c) Seventh (7
th

) Grade through Twelfth (12
th

) Grade. * 

 

(i) A vaccine administered up to four (4) days prior to the minimum 

age for that vaccine is considered compliant with that vaccine’s administration schedule. 

 

(ii) One (1) booster dose is required of diphtheria/tetanus/pertussis 

containing vaccine. 

 

(iii) Documentation of primary vaccine series completion (see 

requirements for Kindergarten through Sixth (6th) Grade and Seventh (7th) Grade 

through Twelfth (12th) Grade).  

 

(d) Other Students (e.g. Transfer Students). * 

 

(i) A vaccine administered up to four (4) days prior to the minimum 

age for that vaccine is considered compliant with that vaccine administration schedule. 

 

(ii) Documentation of primary vaccine series completion (see 

requirements for Kindergarten through Sixth (6
th

) Grade and Seventh (7
th

) Grade through 

Twelfth (12
th

) Grade). 

 

Section 4.   Recommended Immunizations. 

 

(a) Child Caring Facility (applies to children over six (6) months of age). 

  

(i) Influenza vaccine (yearly, based on ACIP recommendations for 

dosing).

 

(b) Kindergarten through Sixth (6
th

) Grade. 

 

(i) Influenza vaccine (yearly, based on ACIP recommendations for 

dosing). 

 

(ii) Completed valid series of pneumococcal conjugate vaccine
 
(PCV).

 3
 

 

(iii) Two (2) doses, separated by six (6) calendar months, of hepatitis A 

vaccine. 

 

(c) Seventh (7
th

) Grade through Twelfth (12
th

) Grade. 

 

(i) Influenza vaccine (yearly, based on ACIP recommendations for 

dosing). 
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(ii) One (1) dose of meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MCV), 

minimum age of eleven (11) years. 

 

(iii) Completed valid series of human papillomavirus vaccine (HPV), 

minimum age of nine (9) years for first dose. 

 

(d) Other Students (e.g. Transfer Students) 

 

(i) Influenza vaccine (yearly, based on ACIP recommendations for 

dosing). 

 

*  Minimum immunization requirements apply, unless specific vaccines are in short 

supply.  During periods of vaccine shortage, interim minimum requirements may be 

implemented through an advisory notification to school administrators from the State 

Health Officer. 

 

FOOTNOTES 

 
1  

If a fourth (4
th

) dose of DTaP vaccine was administered on or after a child’s 

fourth (4
th

) birthday, and at least six (6) months has passed since the third (3
rd

) dose, a 

fifth (5
th

) dose is not required. 

 
2
    Children who receive three (3) doses of IPV before the fourth (4

th
) birthday 

should receive a fourth (4
th

) dose before or at school entry.  The fourth (4
th

) dose is not 

needed if the third (3
rd

) dose is given on or after the fourth (4
th

) birthday.  If all four (4) 

doses are given after six (6) weeks of age and are all separated by at least four (4) weeks, 

a fifth (5
th

) dose is not needed, even if the fourth (4
th

) dose was administered before four 

(4) years of age. 

 
3
    Healthy children between ages two (2) and (4) years that have not completed a 

series of PCV should receive one (1) dose.  Children with risk factors should receive one 

(1) or two (2) doses of PCV, if they have not already completed the four (4)-dose series. 

 


